all about . . . omgwtf


“oh agent starling you think you can dissect me with this blunt little tool?”

dr. hannibal lector to agent clarice starling, silence of the lambs

i’m nowhere near as smart as agent starling, nor as ambitious.  my sole motivation is to try to understand better, in pool and in life.  and i’m ecstatic about this new project i hatched in my immature brain.  the concept is very old, but i’m happy to explore its potential nonetheless.  i’m interviewing.

the concept is simple.  i interview a person with a set of questions.  after receiving the responses, i’ll do some very minor editing: changing typos, adding weblinks to the guest’s blog/website, links to books/musics/equipments mentioned in the interview, and blur out the cussing if there’s any.  i blur the cuss words out, but i won’t remove it, because that’s part of the person’s response, and integral to the whole conversation.  i communicate all the changes with my guest, unless i brainfart and forget.  in that case i’ll contact my guest as soon as i remember.  if i find a response amusing, or if i want to clarify the question, i’ll add my thoughts in brackets, [like this].  “all about . . .” will be the name of this project.

why won’t i change the person’s responses, or paraphrase the words?  simple.  there’s no way i can describe a person better than that person him/herself.  so minus the aforementioned minor edits, i leave the responses untouched, unchanged, unvarnished, and un . . . something.  you’ll have to read everything the person says and make up your own minds.  also, because i won’t cut or reword the responses, it means whatever the person says is his/her own opinion, not the opinions of myself or this blog.  i only want to present the words, so you can peruse at your pleasure.

for the inaugural post of this project, i interviewed omgwtf.  not sure why she’d ever agree to my rattlebrained idea; maybe she ate too much that day and food coma clouded her good judgment.  whatever the case, i’m taking that yes for an answer.  a very big thank you to omg.

btw, omg likes her twitter page!  for up-to-the-minute updates of her life (or when she d~* feels like it), go read her tweets.  http://www.twitter.com/adhesiveremover

so here are the questions and answers.  all omg’s responses are her own.  will omg’s responses give you a better understanding of her?  will they confuse you more?  frankly, dear readers, that is your problem, because this post is not about you.  it is all about . . .


OMGWTF


hairl00p: i personally think that you are not a controversial person, but rather a polarizing person, and maybe an evocative person.  that is, your presence alone can evoke a response.  to me, that creates a mystique, and from mystique, misunderstanding.  in your perception, what is the biggest, or what are the bigger, misconception(s) people have about you?  why do you think that is?

omg: People have absolutely no misconceptions about me.  I am different things to different people, but I am truly all those things, and for good reason.  You may rest easy knowing that I am EXACTLY what you think I am.


hairl00p: how would you describe yourself?

omg: Driven.


hairl00p: based on your years of playing, have you developed a philosophical approach to pool?  if so what is it?  were there any events that drove you to this approach?

omg: My approach to pool:
Do more, talk less.

The event that drove me to this approach:
Getting older.


hairl00p: is there a book, or are there books, whose philosophy or ideology drastically changed your outlook on pool or life?  what is it, or what are they?

omg: The Age of Innocence and The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton.

When asked this question, I always cite at least the first book (1921 Pulitzer Prize winner).  These two books are novels of manners that have absolutely nothing to do with billiards and most people in this day and age would be bored to tears after the first chapter.  I guarantee you 99.99% of people will not be able to see why or how I gained so much knowledge from these two books, but that is because everyone has a different perspective and learning process.  There is no one book that can make a difference for everyone.

Also: I can relate just about ANYTHING to life and/or billiards, but that’s because I’m a pool-obsessed nutcase.  Your results may vary.


hairl00p: do you profess faith in any religion?  why/why not?

omg: Karma’s a b~* with an excellent memory so do the right thing.


hairl00p: music can drive your emotions/mood.  what types of music you like?  do you let the music drive your mood, or do you let your mood dictate the music you pick?  why?

omg: I like many types of music.  It’s a better question of what music I DON’T like, which, in many cases, I couldn’t tell you until I hear it and say, “Wow, that’s a unapologetic load of crap!”  I only have one mood: to win.  As such, music doesn’t sway my mood and vice versa.


hairl00p: your use of ipod (now iphone) is famous in your blog.  do you find that music affect the way you play pool?  if so how does music affect your game, especially when you play with your ipod on?

omg: I use music more for a consistent background noise.  I don’t think it affects my game that much.  Having earphones on is more of a first-line defense against people who want to talk to me during practice.


hairl00p: when people say “smile!”, you want to:

a) smile
b) growl
c) stare blankly
d) punch them in the throat
e) leave to find some steak wrapped in bacon cuz you’re bored and hungry
f) d then e
g) c then e
h) c then d
i) c then d then e

choose only one.

omg: d.


hairl00p: you seem to make quite a bit of sacrifice in your pursuit of pool excellence.  do you think it’s worth the sacrifice?  why/why not?  do you think the sacrifice will eventually pay off?

omg: Sacrifice implies regret. In this case, I do not feel anything I do is a sacrifice — it is simply what must be done in order for me to accomplish what I want.  I am not concerned about the sacrifice “paying off” or not because my end goal is to play up to my own standards, not anyone else’s.


hairl00p: you’ve shared your cross country experience with your readers.  have you kept up with any exercise regiment?  if yes, do you think that gives you an edge at the table, or not that much of an edge?

omg: I take the bus.  When there are no buses, I walk.  When I am late and there are no buses, I run.  I do not do these things because I think it will give me an edge at the table.


hairl00p: describe your techniques at the table.  what sort of grip/stance/bridge/elbow position/wrist position do you use?  are these techniques from trial and error/books/coach/mentor?  how did you settle on these techniques?

omg: I like using an open bridge.  It was the first bridge I used in pool and it serves me well.  I don’t pay much attention to the rest of my mechanics.


hairl00p: are you picky with your equipments?  or do you treat ur equipments as mere tools, and you don’t really care what you use?

omg: It’s well-known that I am not an equipment fanatic.  I use whatever cue I haven’t broken yet.  I’ve played with fiberglass, production, custom, and house cues of a large price range ($8-$2,700).  Each has won very nearly an equal amount of money.

However, I must say that my last two cues are the only cues that I have noticed to make a big difference in my game.  Although both cues are in high demand, the cuemakers have not taken orders for quite a while.  They don’t need me to plug their product.  They know, the players know, and their fellow cuemakers know they make some DAMN FINE cues.  Thanks, dudes!


hairl00p: i’ve come across players that like to play mind games with their opponents.  not outright sharking by dropping the stick or a loud “accidental” bump against the chair/table, but subtle stuff like a soft backhanded compliment, facial expressions, whispering to bystanders, etc.  i call it gamesmanship.  do you think that’s unethical, or do you think it’s within the bounds of competition?  i ask this because when i watch nba on tv, i’d see players talk smack hoping to throw the opponent off.  that seems to be an accepted practice in nba.  i personally don’t agree with it, in basketball or pool.  what’s your take?

omg: It’s part of the game.  Deal with it or don’t play.  I don’t like it, but I know I have to deal with it.


hairl00p: what do you think is the current state of health of the wpba?

omg: I do not know enough about the WPBA to comment.


hairl00p: pro player mark wilson said this in a local paper.

“Another obstacle, muses Mark Wilson, is the players themselves.  ‘A band of renegades,’ he calls them.  ‘The only way you can get two of them to go in the same direction is if they agree to cut the third one’s throat.  Otherwise it’s every man for himself.’  This reputation, adds Wilson, has made the sport undesirable to sponsors, and without them, there’s little chance of landing a national tour.  And without a tour, there’s virtually no exposure, meaning the average Joe will never get to know the players.”  (retrieved from http://www.riverfronttimes.com/2005-10-19/news/rack-roll/3)

do you think wilson’s right on the money or way off base?  why?

omg: The question of sponsors and putting pool into the mainstream eye is a question for those who want the fame and money that comes with being in the mainstream eye.  I don’t play pool for the money and I don’t play pool for the fame.  Thus, I have no opinion on this matter.


hairl00p: you have an enormous success with your blog, and i think you have a fantastic writing style; it’s simultaneously engaging and engrossing.  did you have an influential english teacher/professor or do you have it naturally?  do you consider yourself more as a blogger or as a pool player?

omg: I do not consider my blog an “enormous success”.  I write the way I speak and that is my style.  Those who have met me will attest to this.  I have never considered myself a blogger.  If you notice, the best pool players have no time to do what I do on my blog because they are busy playing.  The very fact that I have a blog with such nice production indicates I’m only an average pool player at best.

[me: i don't know why but that made me laugh.  :lol:]


hairl00p: do you think the men vs. women player debate is over?  why/why not?

omg: I’m assuming you mean who plays better.  [me: yes it is.  pardon my poor phrasing folks.]

Pool has been around in its most recognizable form for about 500 years.  Men have played it all 500 years.  Men have played it professionally for at least 100 years.  Women have played it professionally for 30 years.  Men currently have the benefit of time.  The women are catching up and some have already caught and surpassed some elite male players.  I might never see a woman become the greatest pool player in the world in my lifetime, but that’s not saying it won’t ever happen.


hairl00p: and finally, chocolate or vanilla ice cream?

omg: Coconut gelato gives them both the orange crush.

13 comments on “all about . . . omgwtf

  1. pOOlriah, I love the concept of the interviews. Both you and OMGWTF deserve an A+ for this post. I haven’t laughed this much in years! Keep up the great work!

  2. I enjoyed this interview! I started doing interviews, also, on my blog. I thoroughly enjoyed asking people questions, but I got lazy and don’t do them as often as I’d like (so far I think once a year, lol). I hope you have more time than I because I am enjoying your Q and As!

  3. Pingback: grist for the mill « the OMGWTF blog : billiards food life

  4. hi. i like smearing spam on my gucci shoes. is that a fashionable thing to do?

    • of course. what’s more fashionable is smearing spam on the inside of your gucci shoes. and thanks for contributing to spamatopoeia.

Comments are closed.