want and productiveness

for a while now, i’ve had this thought that i should only play pool when i enjoy it.  if i don’t then i should leave and do something else, or don’t go to the pool hall at all.

i say this because i see people who seem profoundly unhappy at the pool table.  in my previous post, i talked about defining our roles in the world of pool.  i believe that being happy/unhappy at the table is something we should define as well.  as far as i go, i play for the enjoyment of the game.  if i’m not enjoying the experience or i’m not having fun, then i should be far away from the table.  that’s why it frustrates and bothers me to see people unhappy while playing this game.  also, seeing someone so unhappy at the table makes me not want to be like that person.

my personal experience is that when i’m enjoying the game, i tend to have a more productive time at the table.  i learn more, see more, and my improvement is greater.  when i’m hating it, everything goes downhill and my time at the table is not productive at all, maybe even counterproductive.

i’m guessing for those that stay at the table, even though they seem to be hating life, have whole different philosophies about the game.  it’s a free country, but i just feel that if something makes you so unhappy, you should stop doing it.  and if pool makes me unhappy, i’m not going to play.

of course, the flip side is that my practice time is inconsistent, and therefore my improvement is not a steady one.  well, you can probably make that argument.  guess it comes down to a value judgment.  what do you value the most?  your happiness?  your game?  the win?

we must once again default to personalities and values.  it takes all kinds, i suppose.  for me, i’m sticking with my current plan.  maybe one day i’ll change my mind and try to play everyday, regardless of how i’m enjoying the game.

2 comments on “want and productiveness

  1. One of the toughest things I have come across after making a goal to practice at least once a week is when I have to force myself to the pool room when I am having a bad day. But, ironically, that same circumstance may occur during a tournament, so it’s actually good practice (pun intended). 🙂

    • that’s pretty good discipline. i think that personally my practice routine isn’t as structured (e.g., doing drills), so it’s less effective. also, i get too philosophical while i practice. i should probably just focus on building muscle memory instead of thinking too much when i train.

Comments are closed.