poolSynergy, volume dieci

this is the tenth volume of poolSynergy.  welcome back, and thanks for reading this post.

the topic for volume X is “support”.

for the main page of volume X, visit the link below.  it contains a list of all the posts on this month’s topic.

main page for poolSynergy volume X

also, visit the link below for a complete list of poolSynergy’s monthly topics.

http://www.poolstudent.com/poolsynergy_schedule/

below is my post for this month.  enjoy.


for the record, i don’t play billiards, artistic billiards, or do trick shots, so i don’t study these disciplines.  for this post, i’m referring only to pool.

no man is an island.  (or person, if you’re so inclined.)  the unique social nature of man, plus the nature of pool itself, dictate that pool players require support to learn about this game.  even if a player has no formal teacher, he/she would have had to watch someone play to know what is possible on the table.  (most likely, he/she watched many people play as a way to learn.)  if that player learned from instruction books, then the author would have had to write the book first before the player could learn from it.  and so it goes.

what is my support system?  well, the components of my system have been scant, but valuable.

my biggest influence came from my good friend, whom i had written about in a previous post.  he was responsible for setting up my stance, the base of my fundamentals.  i’ve used this stance for years now, with only very minor modifications.  he also taught me stroking techniques, which i’ve implemented into my game.  not counting the stance, these stroking techniques gave me the biggest boost in my game so far.  unfortunately, i don’t have the privilege to ask my friend questions anymore, but the techniques he taught me remained crucial, even to this day.

my other influences came from assorted great players i’ve encountered.  some of them were gracious enough to share their knowledge with me, and these knowledge too got incorporated into my game.  some of the things i’ve learned were cueball path, line of travel, and diagnostic tools to analyze my stroke and aim.  (sorry folks, didn’t mean to sound technical, but that’s the best way i could think of to describe these self-analyses.)

since i was lucky enough to learn these things about pool, i now can use just about everyone’s game as my support system.  (i imagine many of you do this on a daily basis.)  whether it’s pool on tv, a tournament match, gambling, someone banging around balls, i can watch most pool shots, analyze the shot, and incorporate that into my own game.  (except for trick shots like the ones by semih sayginer, or mike massey.  :P)  i’m not saying i’m some ace player, but most of the time i can figure out what a person did to make a particular shot.  once i figure the shot out, i’ll try to duplicate that shot, albeit with my own techniques.

speaking of which, the internet has also been invaluable as a support system, especially with the advent of youtube.  in this day and age, it’s become so easy to type in a few words in the search box, and get tons of pool at your fingertips.  propoolvideo.com was another favorite before they went away.  with such wealth of info, it has become easy for players to watch and learn pool.  so i must credit part of my growth to the internet.

that’s pretty much my support system.  i think that the support can come from anywhere, especially if you’re actively looking for it.

[a quick note on internet videos: there are a bunch of instructional videos online.  a lot of them contain nonsensical info and/or bad instructions, so be careful when you find pool instructions on the web.  i’d personally say the safe bet is to stick with actual matches on the internet; youtube has a great collection of pool matches, thanks to all the folks out there that are posting them.  you can even find some of the old propoolvideo stuff on there.]

4 comments on “poolSynergy, volume dieci

  1. I didn’t think of the resources I’ve used so much in my journey of learning as support, though I couldn’t have learned much of what I know without them. I’ve had a couple short-term pool relationships but they haven’t lasted. I’m beginning to think it could be me . . . 🙂

  2. Thanks for the tip on finding resources on the interweb. Unfortunately I can’t seem to watch anything off the computer because I can’t pay attention to them. I always find other things to do and get easily distracted. Pool on T.V. is still my number one choice of learning, unfortunately, ESPN Classic has stopped showing pool, so I might eventually have to resort to the interweb.

Comments are closed.