the passion within

i fully realize the title of this post resembles a cheesy-a~* crappy romance novel.  fret not, dear readers; this post is about something else.

for the record, i had a quite a bit of difficulty writing this post; normally i can whizz through one pretty easily.  it was difficult finding the right words, but i think i managed it in the end.

mr. feiman commented on a previous post about why blogs pass away.  he listed two excellent reasons why this occurs:

#1. The author is no longer interested in the topic. Most blogs have a particular focus or slant. If the author loses passion for the topic, they will often simply stop blogging.

#2. They feel like the blog is an exercise in futility. Most people blog to be heard, but if they feel like no one is listening, they’ll lose the passion to keep writing.

those are wisely stated reasons; barring the unforeseen, they are the most likely causes for blogs to depart.  which brings me to my reaction to his comment.

blogs are a form of social media; in other words, a blog is a platform for people interact and exchange ideas, and many people blog for this very reason—to have that social interaction.  so it may seem oxymoronic for me to talk about intrinsic motivation—the motivation within, versus extrinsic motivation—the motivation without, where blogging is concerned.  i love playing pool.  when i say love, i don’t mean the kind of love we have for other human beings; rather, i’m talking about the deep satisfaction and pleasure i get when i play the game.  for the lack of a better word, i’ll call this love.  aside from pool, i also love writing.  when i decided to start a blog, i wasn’t thinking about creating traffic, or to become popular, or to be the champion as the most searched/most read site on the intarnet.  it’s a very selfish endeavor; it’s something for me, and for me only.

by saying the blog is only for me, i don’t mean that i don’t give a crap about your comments and opinions, not at all.  i love the comments i get (it’s kind of surprising people actually read my stuff), and i try to reply to all of them, even if it’s just a couple of words.  that’s my way of saying “hi, i’m here, i read your comments, and no, you’re not talking to a wall.”  however, this blog is for me, first and foremost.  i have a lot of pool stuff on my mind, so i feel the need to put it on paper.  i hope people will read it, but i write the posts for me because that’s what i love to do, in the same way that i love pool.

on the other hand, if you start a blog purely to become popular or to have it as a source of human interaction or happiness, i think you’ll be disappointed.  people are imperfect.  whenever you are dependent on people to bring you what you want or need, there will bound to be disappointments.  besides, writing a blog is a lot of work, and it can get boring fast if you don’t have something to say.  twitter or similar microblgging platforms are probably the better options if you just want to post something online without having a topic.

i blog because i enjoy doing it; it’s a drive from within.  it’s just for me, although i hope you’ll enjoy reading it in the process.  i think that when you do what’s driven from within, there’s always a chance you’ll find someone that enjoys the same.  it may be a small audience, but numbers don’t really matter.

it’s what you love.

8 comments on “the passion within

  1. Well, said. I too blog for myself. Initially, I enjoyed sending messages in a bottle out into the blogosphere. Then, found that even having a couple of semi-regular readers changed the way I thought about blogging which was both good and bad.

    I think another reason people never sign off and just fade away is they fully intention to continue blogging at some point. They haven’t lost passion for their subject, but they’ve come to a point where they’ve said everything they have to say on the subject for now. And then it becomes awkward, like a friend who you meant to call and haven’t seen in years…but then again, they haven’t called either, and if there’s not much to say anyway, you don’t really want to either close or open that door, so you just ignore it.

    Still its very sad to have blogs just stop, or to even to newly discover a blog you enjoy, only to find the most recent post is from 2009.

    I wonder if there is blogging rules of ettiquette on how to stop blogging?

    • the well has run dry . . .

      that’s a good point and a very real possibility. it can get really tough to blog regularly due to a lack of topic; i think that’s one of the biggest challenges with blogs, or writing in general. i don’t have any good remedies for it except maybe to read copiously and travel (short local trips can work). i think when a blogger can’t blog anymore for whatever reason, honesty works best. just write a short post explaining why you’re going to stop & for how long, then stop.

      there are probably all kinds of etiquettes out there, but i think as long as a person tries to be as open & genuine with blogging as possible, it’ll work out fine. readers are smart. they can smell bs if the author ever tries to lay s~* on them.

  2. not another philosophy 101 lecture, kidding.

    “if you start a blog purely to become popular or to have it as a source of human interaction or happiness, i think you’ll be disappointed.” I agree, but to some extent, instead of writing a blog, why didn’t you start a journal? Why did you have to share it with the world. A journal is more personal where you do not have to censor yourself and disguise people’s name.

    I don’t think my blog will ever gain popularity. Come on, no one is really interested in my life, in what I do, and what happens in my everyday life. I write so that I remember. Whether it be, the lady who honked at me for not turning right on red, or the waitress who flirted with my husband. All these things, whether they are big or small, are important to me.

    • at the risk of sounding arrogant (and i’m really not trying to boast), i think i have ideas that can do some good. ok, that sounds very conceited, but that’s not my intention. i may or may not be wrong, but i’m going to put my stuff out there and see what happens.

      based on what you said it seems you’d be well suited to a journal format. but you have found an audience, whether you think so or not. when you put ideas out in the open, you never know what will happen.

  3. Hhhhmmmmm……some very interesting points here! It’s got me thinking more about the blogs I read, the people behind them, and to some effect about the people who read mine (the few). Its funny how ‘words’ can have such a powerful overtake on us….

    • i probably read too much into things. but that’s why i became a fan of your blog, because you have a genuine & honest voice. it is interesting how people present themselves in blogs though; some are genuine, others try to cover up too much.

      • thank you! i’m pretty honest vocally too – its why my mouth always gets me in trouble 🙂 …. but i’d rather be true to myself than have everyone like me.

        agreed – the blogs that capture my attention are the ones who seem genuine and that i can relate to. its nice to know that there are others out there “get” the crazy lives we live!

        • very true. if you just be yourself, the people that like you will stay. if you don’t be yourself, people will probably leave anyway when they figure out you’re putting on an act.

Comments are closed.