d~*, i’m a fat pig

one day, my totally bomba~* friend decided it was time to get me some teppanyaki.  so off we went.

in case you don’t know what teppanyaki is (and i seriously doubt that’s the case, since my five readers all seem to be foodies), it’s basically a japanese-style cuisine where they cook on a hot griddle right in front of you, so it’s half cooking and half circus (in a good way).  benihana, i think it’s also called.  traditionally (i think anyway), teppanyaki chefs put on an acrobatic show where they will juggle the ingredients and the cooking utensils around, creating a very dramatic presentation.

these days (at least in socal), teppan chefs seem to do less, but that could just be me.  in a number of teppanyaki restaurants nowadays, teppan chefs will simply cook your food minus the show, or a very minimal show.  a shame, but it is what it is.  i suspect you’d either have to go to japan or find a pretty authentic (read hidden) place in j-town in order to enjoy the theatrical teppan experience.  but hey, at least the food tastes the same, something to be thankful for.

in a typical teppanyaki restaurant, you sit around the griddle, oftentimes with strangers (unless you have seven to eight people, in which case you would get your own teppan station).  the wait staff will take your order, then the chef will appear to cook everybody’s food.

here, the chef is making our perfunctory fried rice.  rice, veggies, eggs, butter.  yum.

fried rice getting ready.  back in the day the chef would fill up a bowl with fried rice, then flip the bowl around with the spatula.  don’t see too much of that nowadays.  :c

house salad with wafu dressing.  available at most japanese restaurants.

butter fried rice.

chef making an onion volcano.  i wanted to see it set on fire, but that didn’t happen.  oh well, at least it smoked.  maybe it was a pre-eruption volcano.

finished plate.  time to eat!

i want to thank my bomba~* friend for making this happen, my cousin’s cat for giving me permission to go outside that day, my neighbor’s avocado tree for not dropping anything on my foot, the bird that flies around my place for not crapping on my car, my . . .

3 comments on “d~*, i’m a fat pig

  1. In your first video, the people eating don’t seem to care about the show at all. The volcano is the scariest for me, the eruption is usually so big that I feel like my face is going to fall off (a little bit of exaggeration). I see that you had beef with scallops? Looks good. Not the prettiest presentation, but it still looks yummy. Back in the old days, the cooks always made the food in batches, so it was like a caravan of food. First came the soup, then the salad, then the bean sprout then the onions, then the main dish, then the noodles or rice. It paces the food a bit more. Yummy.

    • the cook did make the food in batches actually. i just let everything pile up on the plate and ate it in one shot. it felt more like a big dinner plate of food when i waited until everything was done. 😀

      i should also clarify that i didn’t shoot that video; i found it on youtube.

Comments are closed.